Building Name

Tiviot Dale Station

Tiviot Dale, Stockport
GMCA, England
Stockport Timperley and Altrincham Junction Railway
New build


Opened on 1 December 1865, Stockport Tiviot Dale Station was one of two railway stations that originally served the town of Stockport (the other being Stockport Edgeley). The line was proposed by the Stockport, Timperley & Altincham Junction Railway which became one of the constituent parts of the Cheshire Lines Committee on 5 July 1865. Eventually extending from Woodley to Glazebrook the line became part of the British Railways London Midland Region in 1948. Closed on 2 January 1967 and subsequently demolished, Tiviot Dale station was situated at the bottom of Lancashire Hill, near the present motorway bridge. OS Grid Ref: SJ896909

The new station of the Stockport and Timperley Railway at Tiviot Dale is progressing. The preparation of the site has been a work of some magnitude; over 100,000 cubic yards of earth and rock having been removed. The station is in the Elizabethan style. The architect is Mr Mangnall of Manchester. The stone, brickwork, and excavating have been undertaken by Mr Forrester of Stockport and the other part of the work by Mr D Cochrane of Manchester. The building is supposed to cost about £8,000. [Builder 17 September 1864 Page 692]

The station at Teviot Dale is a handsome and commodious structure, in the Elizabethan style of architecture, erected at a cost of about £10,000. Messrs Mangnall and Littlewood, of Manchester, were the architects. There are also three picturesque Gothic roadside stations on the same line of railway, namely, at Cheadle, Baguley, and Northenden, all from designs by the same architects. The company have also erected an extensive goods warehouse at Wellington Road, for the convenience of Stockport. [Slater Directory of Lancashire 1869 Stockport, &c. Page 734].

Reference           Builder 17 September 1864 Page 692